La Oliva, the most touristic city of Fuerteventura on the island!

La Oliva: Tourist town in the north of Fuerteventura

What to see in the north of Fuerteventura: the town hall of La Oliva

Located in the north of Fuerteventura, island of the famous Canary Islands archipelago, the town hall of La Oliva divides between several countries, including:

  • La Oliva, capital of the Municipo-1,295 inhabitants

  • Corralejo, the most important tourist area of the north of Fuerteventura-16,974 inhabitants

  • El Cotillo

  • Villaverde-1,714 inhabitants

  • Lajares-1,781 inhabitants

  • Vallebròn

  • El Roque

  • La Caldereta

  • Isla de Lobos


What size does the northern part of Fuerteventura have?

The town hall of La Oliva extends for as many as 355.5 square kilometres, divided between the various countries listed. The surface constitutes 21.5% of the whole island of Fuerteventura

How many inhabitants does La Oliva have?

In 2016, 24,506 inhabitants were registered in all countries

When was the town hall of La Oliva born?

According to a nineteenth century manuscript, the town hall of La Oliva was founded in 1500 by the Hernández brothers, who resided at Bethancuria, and chose the area to live there during the sowing period.

From the eighteenth century the olive converted into the residence of “Los Coroneles”, the maximum political charge of the island of Fuerteventura and large landowners of the same, destined for the production of grain.

At the time the economic activities of the island of Fuerteventura, as of this area were agriculture and fishing.

Starting from the twentieth century, starting from the years 60/70 the island and the town hall of La Oliva began to transform thanks to the arrival of what has become today the main economic activity: Tourism in Fuerteventura. Thanks to the different hotels and tourist facilities in fact the North area of Fuerteventura has become one of the main destinations for tourism!

La Oliva: Curiosities on the northern part of the island

– La Oliva was capital of the island from 1834 until 1956, after Puerto del Rosario was named capital of the island.

-It is part of the province of Las Palmas (Gran Canaria) and is one of the 6 municipalities which constitute the island of Fuerteventura besides:

  • Puerto del Rosario
  • Betancuria
  • Antigua
  • Pajara
  • Tuineje

-Festivities in La Oliva:

  • Las Hogueras de San Juan on June 24th in Vallebròn
  • Nuestra Señora del Carmen on 16 June in Corralejo
  • Nuestra Señora de Candelaria, in February, at La Oliva
  • San martìn de Porres in El Roque
  • Feast of the Three Kings in Tindaya




Previous The climate of the Canary Islands
Next Climate Fuerteventura: The best Island in Canarias

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *